What Makes You Happy (con’t)

In my last two posts, you have seen that I have started a series on happiness. So I am continuing with this idea because it has been such a rewarding time for me, that I hope you may benefit too.

What makes you happy?

If you have been following, you have started with some basic stretches, nothing formal, but something simple to get your body in motion. Then you have found a quiet place in your home to pray and plan your day. If you are following, then you have created a new daily schedule for yourself.

This schedule should be written down on a separate piece of paper from your normal schedule. I think this is important because it provides you the opportunity to carry it in your pocket and it provides you with confidence that you are on the right path of today’s journey.

This separate piece of paper will also allow you to write yourself notes, so at the end of your day, you may reflect on the journey that you have experienced.

I use the word ‘experience’ because if we are truly following a path of happiness, then we are allowing ourselves to experience the various encounters and interruptions in a positive light. Remember, we are focused on the journey of happiness.

The next question is:

“How often do I have to be right?”

Have you ever thought about this one question? Have you ever taken the time to look at a situation and discovered what kind of damage you created in your relationship, just because you wanted to be right?

For many, being wrong can have some devastating effects to ourselves. As a result, we are always pushing to prove we are right about the particular situation or subject.

One maybe so concerned with proving that they are right, that they loose focus on what is really important. So what could be so important?

In order to be in a relationship with God, we must understand that God is present in our community, especially with that person who we are trying to prove is wrong.

So we should next ask:

Is it worth proving myself right and destroying a relationship?

We should stop and think about this relationship. How long have I known this person? If I prove him wrong and humiliate him, will that help me to be a better person? Will that provide me happiness?

Is my ego so big, that I am in constant need to be right?

What difference will it make if I prove myself to be right and the other person wrong?

Sometimes when we allow people to be wrong, they will discover their mistake on their own. After their enlightening moment, they may actually retain more and learn from their experience. It maybe more of a positive than angering them and loosing a friendship.

I have previously talked about being gracious. This may be a time where grace is more important than proving your point.

“Dear God, give me the grace to be in relationship with others, give me the strength to know and understand this relationship and most of all, keep me mindful of my ego so that I may not trample upon people and destroy their egos. So that as I travel on my journey, I may encounter and experience your love through Grace and Hope. And keep me Jesus from the need to be always right, that in allowing people to be wrong we may experience the right together with grace and love. In your name, we pray. Amen”

About tourinaradiocar

I am an active radio car operator. I love to operate my radio and listening to the radio is a wonderful chore. Thanks to people like Phil, Cash, Carey, Brent and many others, it makes the time go by while driving around town.
This entry was posted in Blogging, General Interest, Unbelieveable. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

