Turn Signals

The use of turn signals are not very hard.  Although I wonder sometimes.

They were designed to replace the hand signals.  Now that there are multiple traffic lanes and thousands of drivers on the road, the turn signal is something that we can use to help us let other drivers know what we are going to do, while driving down the street.

I have noticed though that some people have difficulty using their turn signals.   I noticed that if they are talking on the phone, they are too occupied to use the turn signal.  If they are trying to read or accomplish some other task, a turn signal is often left alone, leaving motorists guessing on what you are going to do.

There are times though that a turn signal is used.  Some drivers feel that the turn signal is their demand to let you know that they are going to turn or change lanes.  When a driver uses them in this manner, you better get out-of-the-way.  If not you might have a crash.  And when the police arrive, you are going to hear that driver state, as a matter of fact, “Well, I had my turn signal on!”

Then there are times when a turn signal is used, after the turn or lane change.  At that point, I wonder “Why bother?”

And believe it or not, some turn signals are turned on and never seem to turn off.  So you see a car, driving for miles, with the turn signal on. Blinking, blinking, and blinking.

I think that some drivers need to go back to turn signal school and learn the proper use for them.

I know, I live in a fantasy world thinking that people would actually go back and remember why the turn signal was invented.  This would also involve some admission of “I know I don’t use my turn signal properly, so what’s the big deal?”

Use it, it might just get you some extra courtesy….from some drivers.

About tourinaradiocar

I am an active radio car operator. I love to operate my radio and listening to the radio is a wonderful chore. Thanks to people like Phil, Cash, Carey, Brent and many others, it makes the time go by while driving around town.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turn Signals

  1. There is an etiquette of signals to communicate with truckers to tell them for example, it is clear to pass you or that you intend to pass them. What’s up with that?

  2. Its better to signal the truckers to let them know that they have passed you, rather than them misjudging and taking off the front of your vehicle.

Leave a Reply

